Rachel wakes up on the train with no idea who she is or where she is going. By chance she meets Rory MacDonald, just retired after twenty years in the military and a friend of Inspector James Bulmer. He discovers her identity just as her husband’s body is found in the boot of an abandoned car. Her suitcase on the back seat contains jewels, and Bulmer suspects that she is faking amnesia and that she is part of a gang involved in a number of crimes. Rory is convinced of her innocence, refusing to believe she is involved with a master criminal responsible for a series of robberies and the hijacking of whisky lorries, but is he being fooled by a pretty face and air of helplessness? Bulmer builds up a convincing case, helped by Rachel’s confession that she killed her husband and had, in fact, been planning his murder for years. But uncovering the killer is only the first step in unmasking the man behind the crime wave. Set in 1960s Edinburgh, this is the first of a series of novels featuring Rory, Bulmer and DC Alan Ferguson.
ISBN: 9781782992707
Type: Paperback
Pages: 202
Published: 25 March 2013
Price: $12.65

Other books from this Author